Manuscript First Pages – Things I’ve learnt along the way.

Writing Craft via Leonie Rogers

Leonie Rogers

One of the things I’ve learnt since my publishing journey began, is that I’m not that great at first pages or back cover blurbs.

I’m lucky that I have a publisher who looked past my first chapter and read the whole story and thought it had enough potential to publish – something that many publishers wouldn’t have done. When I first wrote Frontier Incursion, I spent days, and possibly weeks, agonising over the first chapter – I knew it wasn’t quite right, but I didn’t really know how to fix it. There are probably more discarded beginnings of that chapter than just about anything else, sitting in my computer folders. Sometimes it was a prologue. Sometimes it was a brief blurb, and sometimes it was a whole chapter. Fortunately I had an editor who gave me tips and suggestions so that I eventually approached the whole thing differently. What…

View original post 585 more words

Leave a Reply

