I Write The Book

Sadie Hanson

After a three-month hiatus I surprised myself last Friday morning. I sat down and began writing the second draft of the novel. It feels as if I’ve completely started over. The story and the characters have evolved like I’ve woken to a new day. And so far it’s feeling damn good; I only hope this feeling lasts.

I’d actually made tentative steps into a rewrite late spring but then I lay the metaphorical pen down. I heeded the advice of SJ Bradley, my mentor on The Womentoring Project, who’d told me to step back and to take my time writing this piece, years if I have to. The last few months have shown me how right she was. I didn’t spend the time sitting on my hands though. She gave me exercises; dialogue placing my characters in a variety of situations outside of the actual story. The result, I now have new scenes to add to the narrative… I…

View original post 319 more words

Leave a Reply

