Titles and covers and blurbs, oh my!

Self Pub

Linda Cassidy Lewis

I did not intend to blog only once last month. September just disappeared while I was busy writing. If you’re a self-publisher trying to do it all yourself, like me, maybe you’ll relate to my current predicament. Actually, even if you have a team who decides on the title, cover, and back cover copy for your books, you might sympathize—and feel fortunate.

unkbookEven though I planned for my romantic comedy to be a shorter novel than my serious women’s fiction, the first draft missed the goal by a good bit. No surprise really. I write lean, so my first drafts always fall short of the word count goal. Still, I worried I wouldn’t be able to add enough in revision. Now, I’m no longer concerned.

A successful and busy writer friend graciously offered her time to read my first draft and make some excellent suggestions. Those comments inspired me to add…

View original post 246 more words

Leave a Reply

