Are you asking the right questions? How to work more effectively with mentors etc.

catherinewinther

Do you know how to ask the right questions when working with a mentor, editor, critique partner etc.? It seems like a simple enough question. Well at least I thought so until the last few weeks.

I have been working with a writing mentor for the last month or so and as a consequence of this I have been on a steep –sometimes painful- learning curve. However, it got off to a rocky start. Why? Because I didn’t know what questions to ask.

I have only had experience with a few editors, critique partners and mentors but what has enhanced all of these interactions has been my self-directed learning. It has been through buckling down and really sinking into some books on craft that I have been able to get the most out of my sessions.

Don’t get me wrong, all of the feedback I have had has been helpful…

View original post 320 more words

Leave a Reply

