What a writer can learn from a disappointing read

verawrites

Ebook Reader - photo by James Tarbottom/Unsplash Ebook Reader – photo by James Tarbottom/Unsplash

I love my e-reader! It weighs less than a pound and holds 100s of books. For Christmas, I get gift cards from 3 of the guys I support (administratively, that is, at the office). Plus, there are lots of free and cheap e-books available from various sources.

Summer, for me, is a time for lighter fare, and I have been reading my way through such e-books. A week ago, I started what I hoped would be a light-hearted mystery-romance but, instead, turned into a disappointing and not very satisfying read.

So I asked myself: What can I, as a writer, learn from this experience? Here are a few of my observations:

  1. The right title is important
    1. It should attract readers by promising something about the content. Yes, it can be enigmatic, or a teaser, but it should be accurate (unless it’s a satire…

View original post 658 more words

Leave a Reply

