Writing is like dieting

lorellepage

Writing and dieting have an interesting relationship. I thought starving writers were motivated to write more, but the opposite is true for me. If I didn’t have a fridge to go to every time I’m stuck on a word, it would be become too expensive: I’d have  to replace all the keyboards I would smash.  I’m trying to do both at the moment and falling flat so I thought I’d make some observations about my experience.

Some similarities:

1) If you make realistic long-term goals, you are more likely to achieve them.

2) If you have a bad day and don’t meet your daily goal, start the next day as though yesterday never happened. Don’t try to make up for what you didn’t do the day before.

3) Quality exceeds quantity – a satisfying, tasty meal will stick with you longer than loads of small tasteless meals. The same can…

View original post 175 more words

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

