The three best ways I get out of writing slumps

Writing Velocity

What’s the worst thing about the writing process?

Odds are you probably said writer’s block, because it sucks. Writer’s block – or as I like to call it, being in a “writing slump” (makes it seem less permanent) – can make even the best writers stare at their keyboard blankly.

Here are the three best ways that I get out of my writing slumps:

  1. Listen to music on the bus

This may be overly specific, but for me it works practically without fail!

Something about being on the bus with my headphones in always makes me contemplative. If I’m not crammed next to too many people, it’s a nice space to think about different plots, and just follow whatever thought process my music takes me on (image-heavy lyrics work well for me, especially Fall Out Boy!). It’s just me, my music and a bus window to watch the city rush…

View original post 222 more words

Leave a Reply

