Editing

Aussie Writers

Today I wanted to talk a little about editing. It’s a huge part of writing and some people hate it with a passion. Editing, can be looked at as a second chance.

I GET TO FIX THIS.

Or as a sign of what lots of us (sometimes insecure) writers fear.

I DIDN’T GET IT RIGHT.

As for I feel about the subject, well it kind of depends on the day and that can be a problem. Because if a book is due to a crit partner, an agent, a publisher, a bookseller, then the edits need to be done.

There isn’t always time for a writer’s feelings.

I’ve been thinking about editing a bit after my 7yo’s class were introduced to the idea that they didn’t have to get it right first time. There was a lot of confusion over this simple idea. The teacher asked me to come in…

View original post 299 more words

Leave a Reply

